Terracrux Tournament in Tacoma

Hobby

I was going to do more elegant battle reports like my Wotan ones, but going back through my phone, I missed at least half the pictures I needed, and greased at least a dozen more, so here’s a briefing followup post to the previous post, regarding this tournament.  It was a tourney of mostly newbies, so two handicap Tohaa lists fought at Terracrux:  no Symbiomates, no MSV2; and in one list, no Triads.

Or so I was told!  Ten attendees showed, myself included.  Only three, as I recall, were actually newbies.  The rest were the usual tourney crew.  Ah ha, hard mode, then!  These were my lists:

logo_801.png Gorgosnips
──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1sep.gifsep.giforden_regular.png10  orden_impetuosa.png1
logo_6.pngGORGOS Squad Chaksa Peripheral B . (2 | 82)
sep.giflogo_6.pngGORGOS AP Spitfire, Flammenspeer, Pulzar +1 Chaksa Peripheral B / Shock CCW. (2 | 82)
sep.giflogo_6_2.pngCHAKSA PERIPHERAL B Pulzar / Pistol, Knife. (4)
logo_24.pngSUKEUL Lieutenant (Forward Observer) K1 Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Breaker Pistol, Knife. (0 | 32)
logo_21.pngKOSUIL Engineer Boarding Shotgun, D-Charges, Panzerfaust / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 24)
logo_21.pngKOSUIL Engineer Boarding Shotgun, D-Charges, Panzerfaust / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 24)
logo_1.pngKAMAEL Sniper Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 16)
logo_1.pngKAMAEL Sniper Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 16)
logo_1.pngKAMAEL Sniper Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 16)
logo_1.pngKAMAEL Paramedic (Medikit) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 14)
logo_20.pngKAELTAR Light Shotgun, Flash Pulse + 2 SymbioBombs / Pistol, Electric Pulse. (0 | 15)
logo_8.pngMAKAUL Heavy Flamethrower, Eclipse Grenades / Pistol, Viral CCW. (0 | 13)

GROUP 2sep.gifsep.giforden_regular.png3  orden_irregular.png1
logo_25.pngKAAURI Sentinel Submachine Gun, 2 Nanopulsers, Nullifier / Pistol, Electric Pulse. (0 | 12)
logo_25.pngKAAURI Sentinel Submachine Gun, 2 Nanopulsers, Nullifier / Pistol, Electric Pulse. (0 | 12)
logo_10.pngCHAKSA AUXILIAR (Baggage, Sensor) Heavy Flamethrower / Pistol, CCW. (0 | 10)
logo_30.pngSWITCH 2 E/Mitter / 2 Stun Pistols, Knife. (0 | 14)

4.5 SWC | 300 Points

A chintzy Gorgos list with some disposable Kamael snipers.  I also wanted to show off my new flirty Tohaa sniper girl conversion, though I couldn’t get her painted before the tourney.  Weather was humid, and I missed sleep, blah blah.

People always love killing Gorgos.


logo_801.png Taqattack
──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1sep.gifsep.giforden_regular.png9  orden_irregular.png1
logo_26.pngTAQEUL Lieutenant (Advanced Command) Viral Combi Rifle, SymbioBugs / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 40)
logo_26.pngTAQEUL (Chain of Command) Spitfire, SymbioBugs / Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 40)
logo_22.pngKERAIL PRECEPTOR Submachine Gun, Smoke Grenades + 1 Surda SymbioBeast / Pistol, Electric Pulse. (0 | 20)
sep.giflogo_22.pngSURDA SYMBIOBEAST Pulzar / Viral CCW. (0 | 8)
logo_22.pngKERAIL PRECEPTOR Submachine Gun, Smoke Grenades + 1 Surda SymbioBeast / Pistol, Electric Pulse. (0 | 20)
sep.giflogo_22.pngSURDA SYMBIOBEAST Pulzar / Viral CCW. (0 | 8)
logo_7.pngCLIPSOS (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 25)
logo_7.pngCLIPSOS (Forward Observer) Combi Rifle, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 25)
logo_9.pngKUMOTAIL Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 22)
logo_11.pngCHAKSA SERVANT Electric Pulse. (0 | 3)
logo_25.pngKAAURI Sentinel Submachine Gun, 2 Nanopulsers, Nullifier / Pistol, Electric Pulse. (0 | 12)
logo_25.pngKAAURI Sentinel Submachine Gun, 2 Nanopulsers, Nullifier / Pistol, Electric Pulse. (0 | 12)
logo_28.pngCYPHER 2 E/Marat, E/Mauler / Stun Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 19)

GROUP 2sep.gifsep.giforden_regular.png4
logo_10.pngCHAKSA AUXILIAR Smart Heavy Rocket Launcher / Pistol, CCW. (1 | 15)
logo_10.pngCHAKSA AUXILIAR (Baggage, Sensor) Heavy Flamethrower / Pistol, CCW. (0 | 10)
logo_10.pngCHAKSA AUXILIAR (Baggage, Sensor) Heavy Flamethrower / Pistol, CCW. (0 | 10)
logo_7.pngCLIPSOS Sniper Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (1 | 26)

SWC | 299 Points

Two Taqeuls, units you know I don’t like, without Symbiomates, which you know they need, with like 2 SWC weapons, and with no triads and no MSV2 or Sukeuls to boot.  Best worst list ever?


20170710_212625

There were the goys setting up there tables.  The two dudes on the left were a couple of the newbies.  Our missions were Supplies, Highly Classified, and Antenna Field.

I don’t take pictures of myself, and I don’t think I’ve showed myself on my blog, but I’m not shy about it, so here’s a picture of me from a couple days later:

20170710_214504

I’m the ginger.  Hike day with coworkers on Lake Serene.  These guys are all way more blue collar than me, and we were trying to set up a hike day for weeks.  This is first part of the trail, Bridal Falls, on a fork rock below the waterfall.  You can march up through the current and stand in the waterfall’s pool, but it’s pretty slick and easy to fall in, so I wouldn’t recommend it.  If you live or visit in Washington, this is a great hike, seriously beautiful.

20170710_214602

The second part of the hike, Lake Serene, is basically magic.  Top of the mountain, this lake appears, wreathed in snow, vertical cliffs, warm sun, cool breeze, eagles, chipmunks, and no bugs.  I rate it 5 out of 5 artichokes.

Artichokes5

Here’s a couple table closeups, I didn’t play on these two:

 

 

My dear friend Noel was there, too, but we did not play against each other.


First game was against Alex.  He was the Doctor Lazerbeast I fought on Wotan, but he usually plays Acontecimento, which he was doing here.  It was a list with a Spitfire Peacemaker, a Montesa Duo, a 5-man Regular link, Teuecer, and a pair of Nagas.  I played the Taqattack list, since my classifieds were both Kumotailable.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This was just a mess of a mission.  Alex had me boxed in almost the entire game.  The Kumotail got both classifieds, and the Clipsos Sniper killed Teucer, and a Baggage Chaksa kept crit dodging, but I didn’t get a single primary objective.  I tied the game by suiciding a Kerail and a Kaauri into his objective holders.  I would have won on the classifieds, had I not misundesrstood the Secure HVT classified.

Derp.  But I tied!


Game 2 was against a very, very new Haqqislam player.  I tried to help him as much as possible, but he was a “Let’s Go!” kind of player, so I sensed irritation at my perceived handholding.  I ran Gorgosnips to give him a good time.

20170710_213251

That glamour shot was the only picture I took of the game.  The result of that was that Gorgos killed almost everything, and had I not lost the paramedic, I would have 10-0’d him.

It wasn’t from a lack of trying.  My opponent did do a bold 3-Ragik drop, but he didn’t have the support necessary to make it work, and succeeded only in wounding a Kosuil.  I deliberately walked the Gorgos into five―five!―flamethrower shots from Naffatûns, but he wouldn’t die.


And suddenly, I was tied with 3 others for top table!  It was a very close tournament.  I fought Brian’s Onyx force, which he was very green on, and was very drunk playing, by this point.  I played Taqattack again.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My Rocket Chaksa got of five guided rockets that game.  The rockets killed a Nexus Lieutenant, a Maakrep, a Unidron, and wounded an Umbra.  The Viral Taqeul Lieutenant killed almost everything else,  It was a turn 3 tabling, 10-0.


About fifteen minutes later, they called the players together.  I placed second, only 1 objective point behind the winner, Chris!

“Hey,” I said, “I should have 2 more points from my second game, it was 10-0.”

“Oh, sorry, congratulations, Dawson!”

Clapping.

“Oh… haha, sorry, actually no, it was 8-0, not 10-0, congratulations, Chris!”

Double derp, immediate facepalming and ribbing.

Chris said he didn’t deserve the win, but we were both playing hard mode; he was playing Hassassin Bahram without Ghazis, so he should feel good.  Prize support was spartan, so I didn’t feel like missed anything but the swole of being first.  But, I am elated to have placed second, considering my goofy lists.  And my bag got a new patch of Neoterra.

20170629_224846

Tacoma, as Brian says, is basically a Grand Theft Auto city.  But it still manages to be epic, in its way.  Drive home from Tacoma sees you Mount Saint Helens in the distance.  A long car ride home, from where I lived, but we all got to laugh and bellyache over the results of our games.

If you haven’t done a tournament, I do recommend it, they are much less intimidating than you might think.

4 thoughts on “Terracrux Tournament in Tacoma

  1. Your nature pictures make me want to take another trip out west. It’s been too long, but kids are keeping me pinned down on the east coast. When they are old enough we are taking a road trip that way.

    Love the lists. Nice to hear that all Tohaa things are solid in a fight. I keep saying they are and seeing more proof is a nice thing. I would like to know what you dipped your Gorgos in to keep it from catching fire? I need some of that as my main opponent likes to hit mine with a Heavy Rocket Launcher every chance he gets.

    Like

    1. Well, don’t get me wrong, I do still think the Taqeul and Gorgos are overpriced, but handled with care they do fine.

      The next hike I’m trying to organize is to the Ape Caves, a little known network of caves between Washington and Oregon. But we’re going to have to meet up at like 6:00 a.m. at the latest, to get there at a reasonable time, but, they look amazing. I feel bad for you Midwest/East coast dwellers–your “mountains” are our “foothills”.

      Like

  2. I’ve driven all over the country. The difference between the mountains in the east vs those in the west still amazes me. We really do have a beautiful country and I have seen a good portion of it. The last long driving trip I took was with my wife out to Utah for my brother’s wedding seven years ago. We took extra time to enjoy Utah and Wyoming while we were out there.

    The best was when a friend and I took 6 weeks and just drove all over the country focusing on the west. We hit all the states out there and only spent two nights the whole trip in hotels. Sleeping in the back of a pick up truck and waking up in a field of cows is interesting. If you ever have the time to do a long road trip I highly recommend it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

