Tunguska Tryouts

Game Theory, Wacky Nomads

Last week, I gave the small crop of Tunguska units a try as a sectorial, presuming a few things like Fireteam: Core on the Grenzers, and AVA2 (at least, hopefully!) Transductors, with my opponent’s permission.  Here’s the result of that game and my thoughts on “Tunguska” as-is.


logo_501.png Tunguska
──────────────────────────────────────────────────

GROUP 1sep.gifsep.giforden_regular.png10
logo_2.pngGRENZER Boarding Shotgun / Pistol, Breaker Pistol, Knife. (0 | 23)
logo_2.pngGRENZER Spitfire / Pistol, Breaker Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 30)
logo_2.pngGRENZER Missile Launcher / Pistol, Breaker Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 29)
logo_2.pngGRENZER Missile Launcher / Pistol, Breaker Pistol, Knife. (1.5 | 29)
logo_2.pngGRENZER (Forward Observer, Sensor) Combi Rifle + Light Flamethrower / Pistol, Breaker Pistol, Knife. (0 | 27)
logo_11.pngSPEKTR (Deployable Repeater) Combi Rifle, E/Mauler / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 32)
logo_11.pngSPEKTR Hacker (Assault Hacking Device) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 36)
logo_11.pngSPEKTR Boarding Shotgun, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 30)
logo_16.pngINTERVENTOR Hacker (Killer Device Plus UPGRADE: Lightning) Boarding Shotgun, 1 FastPanda / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 20)
logo_21.pngTRANSDUCTOR ZOND Flash Pulse, Sniffer / Electric Pulse. (0 | 8)

GROUP 2sep.gifsep.giforden_regular.png2  orden_irregular.png1
logo_16.pngINTERVENTOR Hacker Lieutenant (Hacking Device Plus) Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0.5 | 25)
logo_21.pngTRANSDUCTOR ZOND Flash Pulse, Sniffer / Electric Pulse. (0 | 8)
logo_45.pngWARCOR (Sixth Sense L1) Flash Pulse / Stun Pistol, Knife. (0 | 3)

5.5 SWC | 300 Points

Open in Infinity Army

My list was born from this thread, which challenged whehter anyone would take 3 Spektrs or a 5-man Grenzer link.  Now, I do expect things that other Tunguska speculators expect―the addition of the Nikolai Steranko, the Grenz Company commander; the addition of Interventor Morgana; the discount or reconstruction of the Securitate; and the inclusion of mixed links, such as Interventors+Grenzers or Interventors+Securitate, or 1-2 Interventors Haris+1-2 Grenzers, such as many other sectorials enjoy.

But none of that.  I just played Grenzers with AVA5 and Fireteam: Core, and Spektrs with AVA3, against the Imperial Service Sectorial in the Supremacy mission, and here we go.

This was the table, shown from several angles, which used Hexagon Mill terrain.

You can get a good sense of the layout from the pictures, but conceptually it would play out as an open main street, with cluttered businesses and alleys on the sides.

20170522_230550

My opponent won initiative, and chose to go first, so I deployed on this side of the table.  The two Missile Grenzers deployed atop the tower on the right, which ended up having less visibility than I expected.

This isn’t clear in the photo, but I deployed each Interventor in such a way that it also overlapped almost entirely with the Transductor Zonds, ensuring that both Interventors (and the Spektr Hacker) could all retaliate in unison to any Heavy Infantry, Remote or Killer Hacker who might dare cross the Transductor’s repeater.   My Lieutenant Interventor was on the right by the Grenzers.

20170522_230749

In order of 1, 2, and 3, there, I put the Shotgun Spektr, the Deployable Repeater Spektr, and the Assault Hacker Spektr in hidden deployment across the middle.

I proxied several Moiras as Grenzers, as well as a Nasmat and Daktari as Interventors, since I neither own nor like the Interventor models.


Onto ISS deployment:

20170522_230339

My opponent borrowed some of my Nomad Remotes.  His list was a Imperial Service swarm, and to the best of my memory, from left to right, there was a Kuang Shi, “four” Rui Shi remotes, a Husong Total Reaction Remote, a Controller Celestial Guard, an HMG Hsien, an HMG Dakini, an EVO Pangguling, a MadTraps Zhanying, a fireteam of Kuang Shi with a Controller Celestial Guard, and a Chaiyi.  A lone Celestial Guard (obvious Lieutenant) was somewhere in the mix.  Basically lots of orders and robots.

I reduced the larger of the two order pools with a Command Token.

20170528_181228

A regular order was immediately spent to halt the impeutous Kuang Shi, since, if the Kuang Shi had ran, it would have damaged one of the Rui Shi in the splash from the Grenzer Missiles.

Afterward, the Chaiyi drone ran up―suspecting Spektrs as I had discussed their sectorial Availability―to deploy a Sniffer.  Knowing that I would soon have a Spektr revealed, I had the Shogtun Spektr reveal and fire.

My opponent correctly guessed that this was bait to distract away from the sniffer, and went ahead and deployed the sniffer, losing the Chaiyi to the unopposed shotgun blast.

20170528_181431

The Zhanying used his sensor, which, through the deployed sniffer, revealed my Repeater Spektr who was deployed right next to my HVT.

20170528_181508

A couple models made a coordinated advance toward the revealed Spektrs, but these Missile Grenzers had no lines of fire with that building in the way.

A Rui Shi was able to advance down the main street, and gun to death the Repeater Spektr next to the HVT.  His advance was, however, halted by the Warcor.

20170528_181613

The Kuang Shi team moved accidentally a bit too far, with one in view of the Spektr.  It didn’t look like I could catch more than one in the blast, so I just deployed a mine, instead.  The Controller Celestial Guard, who led the team, shot some smoke.

20170528_181651

The HMG Dakini stepped out to have a bit of back and forth with the Warcor down the main street, but she was undefeated.

A Garuda dropped in my flank with assistance from the EVO, but was promptly hacked and shot to pieces by my Grenzers and Interventors.

The Imperial turn dragged to an end, succeeding only in killing one Spektr.

20170528_181904

My first move was to advance the Hacker Spektr to shoot the Rui Shi.  I did this because my Transductors would be shot by the Husong, Rui Shi or Dakini if they tried to advance close enough to extend repeater coverage to the Interventors.

Activating the Spektr prompted an Idle response from an enemy Ninja (there is no other possibility in the Imperial Service) atop the same building.  So, I halted the Spektr.

Then, my Grenzers discovered and shot the Ninja.  I wasted an order here using the Discover and Shoot as two separate orders.  But the Ninja had no chance, so it was a fair exchange.

However, I was able to deduce by this action that the two Rui Shi across from me were holoechoes, since they had no ARO.  This left the “Rui Shi” behind the furthest building as a Lu Duan.

20170528_181955

The Spektr was then able to shoot the Rui Shi in its robot back.  Even prone, he did expose himself to the Dakini, but the Dakini (even buffed) was unable to score a hit due to the Spektr’s camouflage penalties.

20170528_182250

I repositioned the Missile Grenzers to get better coverage on my left flank.

The rest of my turn involved little reposition actions, and recamouflaging the Hacker Spektr.  I advanced the Transductor behind the Shotgun Spektr to stack AROs.

I got enough army points on the zones (and removed enough of his) to score 2-0 for the Supremacy mission.

Onto round 2.

20170528_182345

I am missing a lot of pictures for this sequence, but the result of 5 orders from the imperials resulted in the mutual explosion of three Kuang Shi, the mine, and its Spektr.  The Transductor was unharmed, dodging several Chain Rifles.

20170528_182503

The Dakini tried once more to kill the Warcor, and succeeded.  This allowed him to advance the Sensor Zhanying with his MadTraps.  The Husong drone then advanced to cover both the street and the terminal on the right with his Total Reaction HMG.

I should have been suspicious at the HMG Hsien who didn’t attack, but I wouldn’t realize until round 3 that he was not a Hsien.  You may see also that the white-striped Loading Bay has a little guy on it―this is one of the two MadTraps, who also advanced with the Sensor Zhanying.

I now couldn’t reveal my Spektr without getting glued by a MadTrap.

Finally, on the far right, the Lu Duan climbed the stairs and entered Suppressive Fire behind a box, where it could see the console objectives, but my Missile Grenzers could not see the Lu Duan.

20170528_182601

So first things first, I realized the left Missile Grenzer could draw line of fire to the dark corner in which the last of the Kuang Shi and Controller link huddled.  She handily blasted them both.

The Interventor Lieutenant moved up to interact with a console.  However, at the top of the ladder, she would be shot in the open by the Lu Duan if she crossed the gap to the console.  So she stayed put for now.

20170528_182717

Now, I wanted to activate my prone Hacker Spektr, but it was threatened by the MadTrap.

So I sprinted my Transductor up the building and Dodged, taking both the Lu Duan’s Suppressive Fire and the MadTrap in ARO.  The Transductor dodged on a 7, and merrily survived.

The Spektr then peeked out and ended the Lu Duan, and recamoed, using three orders.

20170528_182915

This was a dumb move, but I don’t play take-backsies or intent, so what happened was my Killer Interventor double-moved out (to climb down on her next order toward the objective console), but the enemy Husong drone, highlighted back there in green, easily killed her in the open with his Total Reaction HMG.

20170528_183107

The ground Grenzer team, satisfied with ARO duty, now climbed forward to the console on the right.  I only took three out, as a “haris” team, leaving the two Missile Grenzers to fire back at B1 where they were able.  This was merely to save orders, as waiting on those girls to climb down the ladder would have eaten two more orders.

I was able to secure this console on the left.  Once again, I dominated more quadrants, so the score was now 4-0.

Onto round 3.

20170528_183253

Apologies for the lack of photos for my opponent’s turn

Somewhere in the course of my turn, I killed his Lieutenant.  He spent all but one Command Token to turn orders Regular.

The Impetuous Kuang Shi stepped out on the right, dodging both missiles from the Grenzers.

Now my opponent performed a Coordinated Order.  The Husong drone, highlit in green, acted as Spearhead for the coordinated order.  The drone backed far out, out of cover, to draw an angle on the Spitfire Grenzer who was guarding the corner.  The Kuang Shi advanced with his Chain Rifle.  And the Zhanying also stepped out to draw line of fire to the Grenzer.

The result was that the Zhanying failed to draw line of fire to the Spitfire Grenzer, and failed in shooting; but the B2 BS16 Spitfire Grenzer failed in ARO against the B2 BS11 Husong, and the Grenzer went unconscious.

The two Missile Grenzers hit the Kuang Shi, and the Combi Grenzer failed to hit at all.  The Kuang Shi survived 5 of the 6 armor rolls against the missile!  Alas, a Shotgun Grenzer’s blast was realized to have critically hit him, and so the brave political prisoner died.

He was pretty limited on models and orders, and advanced the Pangguling on the right in a last ditch to dominate my quadrant.

Finally, the “Hsien”, a Killer Hacker Kanren, revealed to hack the nearest console, but failed.

20170528_183449

My Interventor advanced and hacked through the Transductor here, brainblasting the Pangguling and sending it unconscious.

20170528_184002

Then, Miss Interventor Lieutenant crawled out to coup de grâce the Rui Shi, snagging my Classified Objective.

She had to crawl because the Dakini, undefeated, still suppressed the main street.

The Hacker Spektr turned on Hack-O-Vision™ to attack the Husong, but it was out of range.

20170528_183617

My Spektr peeked out to shoot the Husong, but failed,  At this point, I realized I was running low on orders, and for fun, I decided to send the Grenzer (WYSIWYG) to get another console.

He climbed down the building, and ran straight to the console, with no orders to spare.

20170528_183806

He failed the roll, but the enemy failed to kill him.

Tunguska won 8-0.  Huzzah!


1459236877771

I liked the experience, but I don’t honestly think that the 5-man Grenzer team will be a popular team, in the current meta, for a couple reasons.  1, Grenzers pay a premium for some stats (CC, ARM) that Corvus Belli overvalues by at least one order of magnitude.  2, Multispectral Visor L1, as a tool, is of very limited use in Infinity, as there is not (yet) a way to create Low Visibility or Poor Visibility zones in order to make active use of the Visor.  3,  Grenzers offer no direct complement to Tunguska’s highlight:  Hacking.

I therefore expect Grenzers to get some kind of neat mixed link option, or a rework in price or profiles, as Wildcats are already the premier Medium Infantry fireteam in Nomads.

Higher availability Spektrs and Interventors is great by me, but only better than vanilla Nomads, I think, if they also have a way to fill the army with orders.  Transductors would be the obvious inclusion, though I think a simple profile like a Light Shotgun+Light Flamethrower Securitate for 11 points, would also do the trick.  There’s no reason to write off Alguaciles or Moderators from making an AVA3 appearance, either.

One thing that would change Grenzers and every MSV unit in Infinity for the better is if terrain rules were written as a mandatory inclusion for some arbitrary minimum area of the table in official scenarios.  I’ve thrown a lot of ideas at Corvus Belli over the years, but that would be a healthy one for every faction, not just Tunguska.

nomads

Leave a Reply

